father and son spending time together

Father Please Teach Me, Poem To God

Father, Father
Please teach me
How to love you,
How to honor you,
If there’s any wish I could have
I wish to love you more.

There have been so many times
I’ve been disappointed, hurt, & laughed at.
I’ve seen people love other things instead of
Loving you.

I wonder if love really is for me
As I look upon the world, & the work of your hands:
I see people love other things in your place.

Father, Father
Please teach me
How to be faithful. I find my love for You
waning like a small candle’s flame, inside the heart of a storm.
I worry that one day I will forget You & my bond to You.

Father, Father
Please teach me
Of your heart. I’m dying to know of
what is important to You, what your passions are
& how to please You. I’m afraid of losing you
to my ego & my selfish desires.

Leave a Reply

