In The Mirror, Poem To God

Here I am my God
Naked before you.
As I was born,
As I live,
& as I will certainly die.

You know everything about me,
How can I ever hide myself?
Even if I could,
Would that be the best for me?

To hide myself from You
Is to hide from the One who’s loved me
Before I was & much after I am.

Here I am my God
Embarrassed before You.
I try to love & honor You
With all I am, but I always
Fall short of what You deserve.

Look at me, I will never be
Who You truly deserve.
Who is the man I see in the mirror?
Why is my reflection someone I don’t know?

Somehow I can not hide from You,
Though I’ve tried. When will the mirror show
The heart I have inside?

Leave a Reply

